Forge V Lincoln Park RFC

I always liked rugby in the rain…really all I had to do was protect my gear…and for the most part all I needed was an umbrella to provide my cover…another photographer used a bonnet…and a videographer shooting a milk commercial used just an umbrella as well…my point here is…do not be afraid to use your camera in inclement weather…just Be Prepared…and yes at one time…I was a boyscout

To make a long story short…Forge win…27-17…..and I felt the Forge were in control most of the game…but being a fan….I never felt it was in the bag until the final whistle blew .

Lincoln Park battled hard and controlled much of the second half…just could not score enough….when they did score late in the second half I could hear them talking about how the Forge were tiring…and they never gave up…but playing defense, in my eyes ,is more tiring …so maybe they were getting tired…and putting in fresh legs late in the game is a smart thing to do .

The best quip I heard during the match came in the first half…when Lincoln Park coaches were calling for offsides…and the Sir responded…”if it was offsides , I would have called it. ” The players on the LPRFC bench all chuckled .

It was a hard fought match by both sides…and fun to watch no matter the weather .

This Saturday…November 2nd the Forge will host the Cleveland Crusaders which I believe will be for the championship of the eastern conference

Being a hockey person…I just think of the names…Forge …and Crusaders as hockey names…Cleveland Crusaders …once were a team in the WHA…and the Pittsburgh Forge were a junior hockey team that played down on Neville Island…only existed 2 seasons…2001-2002 and 2002-2003….and in their second season they won the season championship…as well as winning The Robertson Cup ( the NAHL equivalent to the Stanley cup ) . Does the Forge name have magical powers…it would be nice if history repeats itself .

Go Forge !

some pictures

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started